Spring into softball season!

As the second semester passes through its halfway point, winter sports come to an end and spring sports prepare for the bulk of their season. Girls softball is one of those sports.

Last year, they began with a very strong team, because they had a lot of strong seniors. This year, there aren’t as many. A majority of the team are sophomores and freshmen, but they have a lot of potential to grow to be a team that is just as strong. “Our biggest strength is that we’re good fielders, but our weakness is that we struggle to come back once we’re down,” says Paige Hilleboe ’20.

Even though the girls have faced some losses recently, they are still motivated and have seen what it takes to compete this year. There are some nerves and anxieties about the coming games, but their future looks bright.  “The best thing about the team is our ability to have fun and work hard,” says Caroline Parker ‘20, “I’m excited to see how we will progress not only as teammates, but as friends too.”

Come support them at their future home games:

Date Time vs.
4/13/17 (Thursday) 5:00 Delphi
4/15/17 (Saturday) 11:00 Lowell (DH)
4/18/17 (Tuesday) 5:00 Frontier
4/19/17 (Wednesday) 5:00 Central Catholic
4/22/17 (Saturday) 10:30 Rensselaer
4/24/17 (Monday) 5:30 Jeff
5/2/17 (Tuesday) 5:00 Benton Central
5/4/17 (Thursday) 5:00 Rossville
5/8/17 (Monday) 5:00 Harrison
5/18/17 (Thursday) 5:30 Logansport
Leave A Comment

Student views published on this website and in the print edition of The Scarlette do not necessarily reflect the views of the faculty, staff, or administration of West Lafayette High School or WLCSC.